More About Southern Magic

We're the Birmingham (Alabama) chapter of the Romance Writers of America®.

Southern Magic promotes excellence in romantic fiction, helps writers become published and establish careers in their writing field, and provides continuing support for writers within the romance publishing industry.

Go to our website at and join in the fun of learning. Come and visit with us.

Our chapter meets every fourth Saturday of the month, except for November and December. On the first Saturday of December we throw a Holiday party for all our members.

Why The Name Southern Magic?

We took it from the city where we hold our meetings.  Birmingham, Alabama is called the Magic City.  Between 1881 and 1920, Birmingham grew at such an astounding rate that it earned the nickname "The Magic City."  Check out the history at,_AL.

Past Presidents of Southern Magic
2019-20 Carla Swafford
2017-18 Eliza Hunter
2015-16 Meda White
(above starts two-year terms)
2014 Naima Simone
2013 Mary Freeman
2011-2012 Heather Leonard
2009-2010 Laura Hayden
2008 Susan Vickerstaff
2006-2007 Carla Swafford
2004-2005 Elizabeth Borders
2003 JoAnn Weatherly
2001-2002 Shannon Oswell
1999-2000 Nancy Jenkins
1997 December (chapter established)

Past Romance Readers Luncheons (no longer held)

2004 Linda Howard
2005 Connie Brockway
2006 Teresa Medeiros
2007 Sherrilyn Kenyon
2008 Christina Dodd
2009 Anne Stuart
2010 Peggy Webb
2011 Victoria Dahl
2012 Sherrilyn Kenyon
2013 Jeaniene Frost
2014 Sylvia Day
2015 Darynda Jones
2016 Jennifer Ashley
2017 Abbi Glines

2004 Gayle Wilson
2005 Kelley St. John
2006 Dianna Love Snell
2007 Debra Webb
2008 Kelley St. John
2009 Laura Hayden
2010 Lyn Stone
2011 Jennifer Echols
2012 Dianna Love
2013 Christy Reece a.k.a Ella Grace
2014 Naima Simone
2015 Lexi George
2016 Hildie McQueen
2017 Lynn Raye Harris