Tuesday, November 06, 2007

On-Line Workshop with Caren Johnson

**PERMISSION TO FORWARD GRANTED AND ENCOURAGED**

Southern Magic is pleased to host an on-line workshop, Everything You Wanted to Know About An Agent But Were Afraid to Ask, with literary agent Caren Johnson .

Description: This is a soup to nuts guide on what an agent does, how to work effectively with yours, and danger signs in any agent/author relationship that you should watch out for. Come join us to ask questions, learn about the benefits and drawbacks of having an agent and when you really need to have one.

When: December 3 through 14, 2007

Cost: $10 for Southern Magic Members, $15 for All Others

Class Advisor
::Caren Johnson:: began her literary career at the Peter Rubie Agency. She stayed for three years, working her way up from intern to agent. She went on to work with Nadia Cornier at Firebrand Literary for a year before starting her own agency in early 2007. She works closely with each of her authors, not only acting as an agent, but offering career guidance and publicity consultation. Her goal is to make sure each of her authors gets published and has a long-lasting, lucrative career.

Caren is full up at the moment with wonderful romance and mystery authors (though any who have written brilliant novels in these genres are more than welcome to submit to her as she is always on the lookout for great contemporary romance, exciting romantic suspense and fun mysteries). She is currently looking for women’s fiction in the vein of Monica McInerney, Jodi Picoult, Alice Hoffman, Sue Monk Kidd, and Laura Moriarty, fiction in the vein of Lisa Lutz, Christopher Moore, Michel Faber, Kate Atkinson, Louisa Luna, Audrey Niffenegger, and Jeffrey Eugenides, and YA in the vein of Scott Westerfeld, Stephanie Meyer, Markus Zusack, Gabrielle Zevin, Libba Bray, and Kevin Brooks. In nonfiction she is currently looking for more narrative nonfiction in a variety of subjects, pop culture, women’s interest (though no self-help), humor and quirky gift books.

Please check out her publisher’s marketplace page at http://www.publishersmarketplace.com/members/carenjohnson

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Registration deadline is December 2 via PayPal/credit card.

The class is conducted through a YAHOO group format and you will receive an invitation to join at the time you pay. For more information, please check out our website at www. southernmagic. org and click on the WORKSHOP icon.

Thank you.
Carla Swafford
President, Southern Magic
Birmingham, Alabama

1 comment:

MaryF said...

Carla,
I must say, I need this class!!!

I'll try and get my act together and sign up soon.