Wednesday, December 06, 2006

Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence

I wanted to remind you that the deadline for Southern Magic's contest for pubbed authors, the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, is January 15. There are so many things to love about this contest!

Our judges are avid romance readers and booksellers who can't wait to get their hands on your books! Many of them tell me they look forward to the contest all year because they find new favorite authors this way.

We have a YA category, which is a bit unusual in my experience, and a novella category. Romantic suspense is divided into series and single title. Contemporary entries are divided into short series, long series, and single title. We also have a paranormal/fantasy/futuristic/time travel category, inspirational, and historical. We offer a 50% discount on the entry fee after the first book, so if you have more than one book to enter, we're a great choice!

We welcome e-book entries if they have a 2006 copyright date and are published by a RWA-recognized publisher. E-books do NOT need to be published as print books to be entered in this contest. However, we do ask that you print your e-book like a print book, with pages printed on the front and back and bound together (e.g., Kinko's binding), for the judging process.

Please e-mail me at with questions, and tell your friends about us. I hope I'll open a package to find your entry soon!

2007 Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence

The Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, sponsored by RWA chapter Southern Magic, was conceived in honor of multi-RITA Winner Gayle Wilson to award excellence in published romance fiction. The contest is judged by avid readers of romance and booksellers. The winners of each category are awarded a gold bookmark engraved with the author’s name and the book’s title. Winners will also be included in a full-page RWR advertisement.

Eligibility: Participation is open to all published authors of novel length romance fiction published by an RWA-recognized publisher. Books must have a copyright of 2006; entries must be received by January 15, 2007. Electronic books may be entered provided they are presented in print book format, published through an RWA-recognized publisher and complete with copyright page produced by the publisher with print on both sides of the page.

Entry fee: RWA Members — $20 for first book; $10 for subsequent books.
Entry fee: Non-RWA Members — $30 for first book; $15 for subsequent books.

Author must provide three copies of the entered book, which will not be returned. Finalists will be notified approximately March 1, 2007. Winners will be announced on March 31, 2007, at the 2007 Romance in the Magic City Conference in Birmingham, AL. All finalists receive a certificate. Winners receive an engraved gold bookmark and inclusion in full page RWR ad. Authors may enter more than one novel; however, the same novel may not be entered in multiple categories.

Categories for entry:

Short Contemporary (Under 70,000 Words)
Long Contemporary (Over 70,000 Words)
Single Title Romantic Suspense
Series Romantic Suspense
Paranormal/Fantasy/ Futuristic/Time Travel
Contemporary Single Title
Young Adult
Novella (20,000 – 40,000 Words)

Judging: All entries are judged by avid readers of romance and booksellers. The top two scores are added to form the final score. Lowest score is dropped. In the event of a tie, ties are broken using the dropped low score.

Books are given to the judges as a “thank you” for judging. They are not returned. Scores and finalist placement are not revealed. Score sheets are not returned. The decision of the judges is final.

Send entries (three copies of book, entry form + entry fee) to:

Jennifer Echols
P.O. Box 190032
Birmingham, AL 35219


Find details, past winners, and a downloadable entry form at

No comments: